FDA Renews Mammography Advisory Committee for Two Years

August 13, 2015

The FDA has renewed its National Mammography Quality Assurance Advisory Committee for an additional two years through July 6, 2017.

The committee is responsible for:

  • Developing appropriate quality standards and regulations for mammography facilities;
  • Developing appropriate standards and regulations for bodies accrediting mammography facilities;
  • Developing regulations with respect to sanctions;
  • Establishing a mechanism to investigate consumer complaints;
  • Reporting new developments concerning breast imaging;
  • Determining whether there is a shortage of mammography facilities in rural areas; and
  • Determining the cost and benefits of compliance with these requirements.

The committee consists of 15 members who serve overlapping terms of up to four years. The core voting members include at least four members from national breast cancer or consumer health organizations with expertise in mammography, at least two practicing physicians who provide mammography services and two nonvoting industry representatives. — John Bechtel